Wujifa and Relaxing the Shoulders

Video: Wujifa and Relaxing the Shoulders =>

This video is aimed to help with understanding how a relaxed shoulder feels and can move.

This reminds me of the time when I visited Rick of Wujifa a year ago. He had me get in a zhan zhuang “holding the ball” posture.  Rick then put his hand under my elbow and told me to let the elbow relax. He then removed his hand, but my elbow stayed fixed in the current position. Once again, he put his hand under my elbow and told me to let the elbow relax.  This time, when he removed his hand, my elbow dropped down.
As Rick let me hold this position for a while, I soon began to feel no strain in my arms and shoulders. It felt as if my arm was floating in the air, effortlessly. I looked at Rick in awe and he just smiled.
About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wujifa and Relaxing the Shoulders

  1. Rick says:

    Nice memories… Your visit here. My hope is that people can get a hint of this by practicing the concepts in the video. As you know we like to say “The method is not the truth” and the same with what is shown in that video… But to those that are willing to take the hints shown there and work toward the puzzle of what it points to… Well we found that those willing to ponder the question have gained a lot of insights from those practices or methods. It seem weird till you get the feeling… And that is where the gong in gongfu begins like Alice and the rabbit hole. The depth is limited to the willingness and levels one will explore.

  2. wujimon says:

    Thanks for the comment and your generosity during my visit, Rick! One of the hardest things for me to remember is “The method is not the truth”. Often times, I feel like I want to latch on to the method.

    “What, a new technique, teach to me. Ok, now I own/know the technique”

    “… It is like a finger pointing to the moon. Don’t concentrate on the finger or you will miss all that heavenly glory.” — Bruce Lee | Enter the Dragon

Leave a Reply

