Three Breaths Method

… In the wuji stance, the form before starting the form, I find three breaths method helps. What I mean is after standing in wuji for a moment and relaxing, take a in a breath into the upper chest and let it out… Then breathe into the center chest and let it out… Then breathe into the belly and let it out…. Then simply belly breath and let go of any intention and notice without judgment. Then when you are ready begin ones form. – Source: Comment on Basic Training | TaijiQuestion

The above is a great tip from Rick of Wujifaliangong and something I will definitely incorporate into my own training. Often times, I have noticed that I will move before I am ready to move. Either my mind is lagging or my body is lagging. There is a disconnect or mismatch.

How do we know when we are ready to move? Though we hear that taiji should be continuous and never stopping, is there a brief stopping or “settling” point in the form before the next movement? 

Back in my wushu competition days, my instructor would tell us to take 3 deep breaths before we began our form.  Only more when we are ready to begin. Sometimes closing my eyes would assist in connecting my mind with my body. The breathing would help me become present.  Current thoughts are connecting with past experiences …

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Breaths Method

  1. S.Smith says:

    It’s a coy method that I think could be employed in many ways…do it wrong.

    I.e. the practice of breathing into the chest is clearly not what we do in deep-breathing arts. But we do it…so doing it deliberately squashes its hold on us.

    Do it wrong to do it right.

  2. Rick says:

    Leading the Qi… Like water put a finger in a puddle and pull it along and the water will follow. Some define Qi simply as breath. In wujifa there is a saying “you are where you are and that’s where you start… In Taiji they often talk about first sink the Qi… I like S.Smith’s comment “Do it wrong to do it right” sound very much like a poem that could be Taiji(ish)… I simply like following direction… Sink the Qi… This three breath thingy seems to help with that too.

Comments are closed.