Day 1 of P90X

My wife and I have decided to become healthier TOGETHER.  This entails some type of physical exercise activity EVERY DAY.  She is doing the P90 program, while I have decided to try out the P90X program, because I’m X-TREME like that 😉 lol..

Last night, was my first night into the program. The P90X program consists of 12 different workouts. On day 1, the following workouts are done: Chest & Back, Ab Ripper X.  The Chest and Back workout is roughly 1 hour long with a 5 minute warm-up and a couple minute cool down at the end. The exercises are done either with your own body weight or with dumb bells or a resistance band. The exercises alternate focus between chest and back. The chest workouts are variations on the push-up and the back workouts are variations on chin-ups.

I was barely able to complete the first workout of 12 different chest/back exercises. If I wasn’t able to continue doing the push-ups, I would do a modified push-up with knees on the ground or just hold myself in the plank position.  The Ab Ripper X workout was no cake walk. I could barely do some of the exercises.  This workout consisted mostly of me watching them do the exercise while I was doing crunches or holding ab style planks.

At the end of the session, I felt a bit dizzy, nauseous and totally beat.  For a bit, I felt like I was going to blackout. After telling my wife this, she suggested that maybe I work my way up to P90X.  I then started thinking of maybe doing some yoga or Tae Bo or something to work my way up, but I’ve decided to keep going on the P90X system. Tonight’s workout is called Plyometrics which looks like a jumping cardio routine.

This morning, I woke up feeling sore, but good. My chest and back are a bit sore, but overall I feel like a much healthier person.  I will stick with the P90X for a couple more days as some people at my work are also on the program. So far, I haven’t seen anything in the P90X program that conflicts with my thoughts on the role of physical conditioning in taiji, except for the fact that some of the exercises consists of isolating muscle groups … hmm…

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 1 of P90X

  1. Dave Chesser says:

    Regarding isolation, master physical trainer Paul Chek said it best, “Isolate, then integrate.” This isn't something you will ever hear from the IMA community unfortunately. The idea is that you isolate the weak parts of the chain until they're stronger THEN incorporate that new found strength back into the whole body movement. It just makes sense. Stressing integration only will always mask weaknesses in the chain. So i would urge you to stick with the program. However, it sounds like you need to dial back the intensity as you're obviously not ready for that level of training. If you're wiped out, then that's not good. A gradual increase allows the body to recover. Second, I have the P90 and P90X programs and while i think they're good, I can get those kind of results with clients in 20:00, not one hour. But to each their own. 🙂

  2. wujimon says:

    Hey Dave. Thanks for your comment about isolate and integrate. Itreminds me of a saying that a system is only as fast as its slowestcomponent.After the third day of P90X, my weakest parts are coming to light.What did I do on a friday evening? Well, P90X of course! So I amsticking with the program. I have toned down the intensity to do whatI can handle. No dizziness or blackouts after days 2 and 3.I haven't forgotten about the kettlebell training and may look at thata bit later. I'm having fun with P90X so far and looking forward totomorrow's Yoga-X workout ;pThanks again for your comments and encouragement!

  3. Derick says:

    Hi,Some IMAs do practice isolating groups prior to integrating them. This is done not just to improve power, but also to improve sensitivity and responsiveness. Trial strength does this as well as other exercises (i imagine) from other styles.Derick

  4. Pingback: Taiji Exercise on Lose It! App « wujimon taiji blog

Leave a Reply

