Zhan Zhuang – Stand Still and Be Fit

I just finished doing a 10 minute zhan zhuang session following the instruction of Kam Lam Chuen.  My first exposure of Zhan Zhuang was through Master’s Lam’s book, The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise, borrowed to me by my college taiji instructor.

The video below includes a warm-up exercise, instruction on a standing posture, and a cool-down exercise.  I picked up a couple of pointers on arm positioning on the wuji posture, so all is good!

During the session, I still felt a bit of tension in my right hip, but not nearly as much as I did a couple of days ago.  Additionally, I noticed some dissolving in the my shoulders that felt like a bit of tingling under and in between my shoulder blades. Whenever I feel this, I am reminded of how much tension we can carry with us throughout the day.

If you have never done any zhan zhuang before, now is the perfect time to give it a try. Watch the video and follow along.  Be sure not to stop holding the posture until the cool-down exercise is covered!

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in zhan zhuang. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zhan Zhuang – Stand Still and Be Fit

  1. hybr says:

    he wrote a couple excellent books on zhan zhuang as well

  2. Andy says:

    “My first exposure of Zhan Zhuang was through Master’s Lam’s book, The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise, borrowed to me by my college taiji instructor. The video includes a warm-up exercise, instruction on a standing posture, and a cool-down exercise.” You lost me a little there … Is this the book or is there a companion video?

  3. wujimon says:

    Hi Andy. I modified the post to make things a bit more clear. I received a book from my first zhan zhuang instructor and the video referenced in the post is more like a companion to the book.

Leave a Reply

