Falling Off the Stretching Wagon

All this thought about my floating right hip, I decided to take a look at some of my own training and conditioning routines. First off, I need to stretch more. I used to start the day off with a couple rounds of Ashtanga Yoga’s Sun Salutation, but that has been slipping. A couple of nights ago I did both the sun salutation and warrior’s pose sequence with my son following along behind me. It was fun for all and my wife got a kick out of watching the little guy try to crawl under me as I was doing “downward dog” :)  After all, I don’t want to end up with “Yang Disease” 😉

I am also a techie gadget guy with a phone holstered onto my right hip. This probably does not help as I am sure it’s putting some pressure and strain on the right hip. I am going to bite the bullet and go back to phone-in-pocket mode even though I may end up with lint all over my phone. I can’t help but notice the hip thing creeping back into my body when I started wearing my phone on the belt again.

Since most of my taiji practice consists of either doing standing zhan zhuang meditation or the first section of a form, I don’t really get into some of the sequences that train kicks of drop stances. I used to have a pretty mean drop stance from my wushu background, but not sure if I can do it well anymore. I am thinking of just picking the “snake creeps down” move out of the form to train.  I am sure this will open up the hips/kua a bit! Hmm.. I may even mix things up and do the Gao Style Bagua Golden Chicken exercises! 

Maybe through some stretching, conditioning and habit changes, I can knock out this floating right hip thing. Perhaps it really is all about the elusive hip hinge 😉

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Falling Off the Stretching Wagon

  1. Rick Matz says:

    If I was going to study yoga, Ashtanga yoga appeals to me.

    Thanks for the link.

  2. Rick says:

    Stretching… could seems underrated… yet for me a very helpful medicine when and as I’ve got stuck. The Sun Salutation is a nice one simple yet really is helpful one too… I’ve returned to that one many times over the years. Then again I like the basics… I guess it’s just a place I’ve liked to play.

    Here are a couple youtube videos of some basic stretches I also like, I have plans for a video on a few of these but for now if anyone might like to check these out, they rock:


  3. wujimon says:

    @Rick: Thanks for the video links! I have been incorporating stretching into my daily routines and will definitely check these out.

Leave a Reply

