Floating Right Hip

I have this issue in standing zhan zhuang that I call my “floating right hip”. Ever since I received a zhan zhuang correction from Chen Xiaowang where he slightly shifted my whole centerline/torso to the left, I have been cognizant of bearing too much weight on my right leg during standing meditation. 

The past couple of nights, I have made sure to adjust my centerline, but in doing so, my floating right hip is making it’s way back into my body. Basically, it feels like my right hip is much, much higher than my left hip.  I have to make sure that I am sitting into my right hip/kua.  Even after that, I will tend to shift my centerline over to the right! Doh! That’s what I get for not doing my standing on a regular basis!  I’ve been slipping for the past couple of weeks.

On a side note, I recently got asked how much time do I practice taiji on a daily basis?  The answer to that question really is “not enough”! But to be truthful, I can say I roughly spend about 1 hour a day plus/minus. I will usually do 30-40 mins over the lunch time and perhaps another 30-40 mins in the evening. Sometimes I will fit in 15-20 mins right before dinner or even do some foundational exercises while watching TV. As can be seen, it’s really a mish mash and whenever I can fit in some training. However, I did make note that will often think about taiji A LOT.  Perhaps I’m more destined to be an “armchair warrior” lol…

So, to wrap things up, what am I going to do about this floating right hip?  Right now, my solution is to do more standing zhan zhuang practices with the above points in mind. Also, I am starting to focus on really trying to relax my glute muscles, in turn relaxing the lower back, thereby elongating the spine.  Previously, I was pulling down my tailbone (not tucking, but pulling down). Thanks for the hat tip wujifa! 😉

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation, Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Floating Right Hip

  1. Shang Lee says:

    As my teacher always point out (again and again)… relax the kua! it’s not the right hip which is floating up, it’s because the right kua is not relaxed enough…

    a side note: i like how the comment box “opens up” when I want to comment, in the main page itself! cool!

  2. Kokoro says:

    Have you checked to see if you have in imbalance of your shoulders which maybe causing this issue?

    Some things which might be interesting to look for are:

    When you stand straight, feet shoulder width, is one of your shoulders higher/over developed than the other?

    Is you lower back lacking flexibility along the spine on one side of the spine compared to the other (a physio can look at the curve your spine makes when you bend from side to side to determine this)?

    When you stand straight, feet shoulder width, do you thing one of your hip bones are more behind than the other?

    Any one or more of these things could be suspect.

    Best of luck!
    Kokoro

  3. wujimon says:

    @All:
    I received a tip from a reader of the blog to consider trying to stretch the area between my kua and armpit during standing. Additionally, to do some stretches on my right side before standing.

    @Shang: You are right in that I should also think about relaxing the kua instead of focusing on the hip. For me, I notice the position of my outer hip, and hence use that terminology for this “issue” 🙂

    @Kokoro: Regarding the structural alignment stuff, I do notice my right hip bone seems to stick out more forward than my left. This is the same feeling I get when I do zhan zhuang. Maybe I should switch the side of my body that my cellphone holster resides on 😉

    Thanks all for the great tips and suggestions!

  4. Mike says:

    Something that’s helped my structure over the years has been Rolfing massage. If you haven’t done that,,,, may be a possibility. You might have some fascial adhesions that haven’t released yet. Or you may be passed that and into deeper stuff than I am.

    Another training aid, stand in front of a mirror. However, to get perspective put thin lines of tape on the mirror using a contractor’s level to get the horizontal and vertical planes level. The tape will serve as a cleaner reference than say, the picture on the wall behind you. (Again, you may already be doing this.)

    Just surfed in and thought I’d toss out my two cents…

  5. Rick Matz says:

    Isn’t it interesting how we find how twisted our bodies are through zhan zhuang practice.

    In aikido, Kushida Sensei once said to us: ” our bodies are twisted because our minds are twisted.”

  6. Vale Taiji says:

    As far as training goes – I’m the same at the moment: it’s spread around and whenever I can fit it in. I generally do about 45 mins in the morning, which comprises warmup, zhan zhuang and a small bit of reeling silk. Then I’ll do another 45 mins or so in the evenng, which is basically a couple of runs through the Laojia.

    It feels like it’d be more effective to do it all in one go, but it’s better than not fitting it in at all 🙂

  7. Rick Matz says:

    If we wait for conditions to be perfect before we train, we’ll be waiting a long time indeed. Do what you can when you can do it.

  8. Rick says:

    Hey Rick Matz

    I like saying “We are where we are, and that’s where we start.”

    I also remember talking with CXW in a private lesson a few years back and he said something to me like “…me too, I don’t even do it correctly… isn’t wonderful!” Then he smiled… They we simply stood together for 90 minutes and then had some tea and talked about a number of other things.

    I guess that’s why I like the saying “We are where we are and that’s where we start.” cause there are always great oppertunities to discover and explore more… and really does ROCK!

  9. Pingback: Falling Off the Stretching Wagon | wujimon taiji blog

  10. JolietJeff says:

    Our bodies are twisted because our minds are twisted, might be interpreted many ways. This is maybe a point of using the mind during standing instead of observing the body and breath during practice. I wrote a small article on this at my site meditation – observing vs concentration and controlling at http://www.balancedawereness.org . Having a great master like Chen Xiaowang adjust you will make your energy change and show you where you should align. But take caution, for what you feel can be deceptive, is the right hip floating or is the left hip too tight or sinking too much. I don’t claim to be the expert but standing in the new position and letting nature adjust you instead of using intention is sometimes the truer course.

  11. Rick Matz says:

    Jeff,

    Those are some good insights.

  12. Pingback: Floating Right Hip Update | wujimon taiji blog

Leave a Reply

