Real Gold Does Not Fear the Fire

 

Over the weekend, I received my copy of Real Gold Does Not Fear the Fire: the Teachings of Grandmaster Wai-lun Choi by Ray Hayward. So far, this is a great book and one I would highly recommend to any martial artist.  I really admire how Sifu Hayward has graciously shared his own personal training note with readers.

The more I read the book, the more I think about Master Wai Lun Choi is trying to teach us.  I have written about my studies with Choi in the past and one of the thing that stands out the most is his notion of not disrupting the breath.  Whatever we do, we must maintain the calmness of our breath.  Any disruption will lead to a break in energy.  In other words, if you are panting or out of breath, you are doing something wrong.

Choi is also a fan of imagery, especially in regards to animal instincts. He talks about not just mimicking the external movements of the animal, but try to understand the internal intentions of the animal. One of my favorite images is where Choi likens Yang Taiji to “that of a shark swimming, looking for his prey. Always on the move, gliding in and out”.  For me, this type of visualization conjures images of agile footwork, coiling body, and patience.

I could go on and on about the book, but I would recommend just picking it up as it contains a wealth of information from study notes to pictures to stories from students.  Here is a description from the product page:

This new book is about the life, teaching, and insights of Grandmaster Wai-lun Choi, the designated Grandmaster and lineage-holder of the Six Harmony Eight Methods style (Liu Ho Ba Fa). Featuring numerous articles, interviews, notes, photos, and history, you will be guided through the maze of martial arts, meditation, and Chinese history and culture to arrive at the door of mastery, embodied by Master Choi’s own story and accomplishments. This must-read book will be a valuable addition to the library of anyone interested in martial arts of any kind.

Shu kuang Press – Real Gold Does Not Fear the Fire: the Teachings of Grandmaster Wai-lun Choi by Ray Hayward

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Martial Arts, Taiji and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Real Gold Does Not Fear the Fire

  1. Ray Hayward says:

    Thank you for the kind review. This book was a labor of love and respect, started over seven years ago. Master Choi told me he wants to devote his “retirement” to producing books and videos on all aspects of Liu Ho Ba Fa. My publishing company is currently working on two projects with Grandmaster Choi and when they get closer to release, I’ll drop you a line.

    p.s. I only had 72 hardcover copies made and there are now ten left. I won’t do another edition in hardcover, so if you want one, contact me ASAP.

  2. Carlton Shelton says:

    I am a former student of Grandmaster Wai Lun Choi having studied with him in the mid to late 1990's. Do you have any copies of the book left. How may I attain a copy of this or other publications/books/DVDs?

  3. wujimon says:

    Hi Carl. Check out the Link in the post to Shukuang Press. You can order the book from there. Here is the link as well: http://shukuangpress.com/Products/rgf.html

  4. John Hayes says:

    Hi Carl, I used to study with Sifu Choi when his school was near Wrigley Field. Jack introduced me to Sifu and to other students. I think we met once or twice. I had to move to Florida for my work, and struggle to correctly keep up my practice. Nobody here is teaching LHBF, and my son wants to learn. For now, he is doing Tai Chi and Chi-gong. I plan to buy your book, does Sifu have any instuctional books and videos? I miss his humor too much, “ring doorbell hard, Jesus Christ say ‘hello!'” are how he used to remind me to do two changes he particularly like for me.

Leave a Reply

