Do you train when tipsy?

Do you engage in training when you’re a bit tipsy from alcohol? Yesterday, I shared a single bottle of beer with my wife while watching the super bowl. While this is not a lot, it was enough to make me a bit tipsy.  After the super bowl, I headed into my office with the intention of doing some meditation work, but when I closed my eyes, I started to sway a bit. Not a good idea, I thought to myself.

Not wanting to make all a lost, I decided to do some silk reeling exercises instead. I began doing some positive/negative circles from the Hong Practical Method as well as playing around with some single/double handed silk reeling from the Chen Xiaowang line.  I felt I was actually able to do these quite easily and the bit of alcohol didn’t really hamper my training.  I did not feel much swaying at all, most likely due to the fact that I kept my eyes opened the whole time.

On a side note, I have noticed my leg strength increasing as I was able to do the silk reeling sets without feeling much tension/pain in the legs. This is most likely due to the increase duration of standing meditation as well as more work on silk reeling. The Chen Zhonghua workshop is soon approaching and I think I have gotten the positive/negative circles at a somewhat decent level where I will not be a complete n00b.  I must thank one of my taiji buddies who trains in the method for the feedback and guidance!

So, what say you? Do you bust out the training when you’re a bit tipsy?

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation, Taiji and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you train when tipsy?

  1. Rick Matz says:

    I think the alcohol would work at cross purposes to what you’re trying to accomplish. I’d be interested in what someone who knows something about Traditional Chinese Medicine might say.

  2. wujimon says:

    agreed Rick, being a bit tipsy is not the ideal training condition and is not an often occurrence for me. However, I figured if the master of old could do it, why not me … every once in a while 😉

  3. taijiquestion says:

    Brave man to bring this one up, WM! I confess to occasionally guilty.

    I’ve gone cold-turkey no drugs for years at a time. But last few years I like a drink on occasion, for medicinal purposes mostly. 🙂

    My feeling is, if being inebriated overlaps my training time more than once in a while, I’m probably drinking too much. But I’m not interested in training that revolves around denial of all worldly pleasures. As someone said, what if I came out of a restaurant, and suddenly needed to use my taiji? Would I be incapacitated because I ate my fill, or had a drink? I don’t smoke since 12 years ago, but in my view a little tobacco shouldn’t invalidate martial training either.

    I’m with the Catholic monks who enjoy their red wine amidst a strict life!

  4. I sometimes run through a few forms after a glass or two of wine. I’ve noticed I feel very relaxed and “think” I’m doing well although I’m probably not as good as I seem at the time. Alcohol has that effect on us. 😉

    When I’ve trained in Beijing We always seem to end up doing push hands in the middle of a restaurant after drinking beer and challenging each other to see who can down the glass the fastest. I know at these time’s I’m not at my best, and although we can get our master to participate in the drinking to a point, he won’t practice with us at these times. Maybe that should tell us something.

    John

  5. Shang Lee says:

    I had a teacher who walked into the class smelling of alcohol. When I joined him for dinner one day, I know why. He was drinking vodka, wine and beer at one sitting. He said that we’re trying to recreate the tipsy feeling anyway through Tai Ji. Alcohol has the same effect. I’m still not sure about this stand. He might be alluring to drunken fist…

  6. Zen says:

    When I was a young grasshopper, I will not say all that was included with our intake. At the time, it did in some cases feel better, in some not. It did however make one force to focus. Another Sensei’s and a SiBak felt one should train under ALL conditions as to be ready at all times under all conditions of life. eg: you are with your friends, wife, partner, whatever and had a few drinks, or full of food or whatever and you need to take care of business…

    Training is not just for prime conditions…

  7. wujimon says:

    @Zen: Great point about being able to respond under all conditions. I remember how eye opening it was to do taiji in high winds or an uneven field.

Leave a Reply

