When I Started 25 Breaths

When I first started the 25 breaths counting meditation thing, my whole session would normally last about 15 mins. Lately, I have noticed that when I do the same sequence with the same breath count, my sessions now last around 30-35 minutes!

I take this to mean my breathing has gotten deeper and more relaxed. Note that I am not forcing my breath, but just allowing the breathing to take it’s course. That is, I don’t try to breath deeper or push my breath further into the belly, I just let my body do it’s thing, and I count.

Additionally, over the past couple of weeks, I have also noticed the ability to calm my mind faster and just get into the groove of meditation.  I have been doing my meditation in the same place every night at the same time. No matter what I am doing, when 9pm hits, I stop what I am doing and start my evening meditation session. Now, I turn off the lights in my office area and leave my door open so a bit of hallway light bleeds into the room. I don’t like to stand/meditate in complete darkness.. 😉

Also, my wife has commented that I am much more calm and at ease. She has definitely noticed a change in that I am much calmer and patient after a meditation session. I told her that’s good, but my goal is to take that calmness with me throughout the day.

What about taiji? Not really much on the taiji front. Perhaps I will incorporate that into my evening routine a bit later. Right now, I am enjoying the meditation sessions that just consist of sitting and standing postures. One habit at a time … 😉

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When I Started 25 Breaths

  1. Rick Matz says:

    I’ve noticed that when I’ve been training regularly, either zhan zhuang or taijiquan, my mind is much more clear.

    When my mind is clear, I’m better able to slow down. The more I slow down …

  2. johncrewdson says:

    That’s pretty good and it’s definitely in line with what others experience as well. My master told me not to worry, or even think much about, breathing in the beginning. The body knows what to do and we need to get out of the way. Later, we can be taken to greater depths with the help of a good teacher.

    I admire your self discipline. I think one thing at a time is a good way to approach it.

    John

  3. Zen says:

    A journey of a thousand miles, is done one step at a time…

Leave a Reply

