Listening Behind

One of the things that Chen Xiao Wang (CXW) emphasizes in standing meditation (zhan zhuang) is ‘listening behind’.  That is, during our standing if we put our attention too much forward, it may cause too much agitation.  Therefore, he says that it’s good to ‘listen behind’ to balance out the energy.

To assist myself last night, I logged onto Pandora.com and created a station based on Liquid Mind.  I then positioned myself so the computer was behind me.  The soothing tones really put my mind at ease in that quiet place.  I made sure my stances wasn’t too wide nor too low.  Then I just stood.

Breathing slowly, I did counts of 25 for 4 postures.  In the beginning, I had to start over counting a couple of times because I was wondering if the music was too loud as I did not want to wake my sleeping son next door.  During the standing, I did notice I was trying to rush the counts a bit. There were other things I wanted to do during that time, but told myself I should be meditating instead 😉

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Listening Behind

  1. Rick Matz says:

    Myself, I’d rather not have any noise; at least not any artificial noise, and still listen behind.

  2. wujimon says:

    Hey Rick. I totally agree with you and for the most part, I don’t have any noise other than the sound of my aquarium, but I needed a bit of help last night 😉

  3. Rick Matz says:

    Sometimes in class we do the group form to music. Always some sort of Chinese Taiji music CD.

    I think we ought to try out a Western modern classic like “Inna Gadda Da Vida” or Ted Nugent’s “Stranglehold.”

  4. This is the first time I’ve heard the concept of listening behind and I’m not sure I understand it. I’d like to hear more about it.

    I think you already know my feeling about music. In class it’s usually Chinese music, but at home I play whatever I’m in the mood for: jazz, rock, whatever.

Leave a Reply

