John’s Tai Chi Drill Post Exercise

Recently ran across John’s post on Tai Chi Drill Post Exercise that includes a Youtube video!  Be sure to check it out as I think he brings up some great points regarding zhan zhuang training.

For example, he talks about keeping the feet roughly one foot length apart. This is a great way to measure the stance as I have a tendency to make a much wider stance in zhan zhuang. I blame it on my old days of wushu and chen taiji 🙂

Also, I really like his point about not bending the knees too much, but just enough so they barely cover the toes. This is great as going too low can put undue stress on the knees, I have learned this the hard way.

After you have finished checking out his first video, be sure to check out part 2 that includes a couple of added drills! Saweet of John to post these videos and share his knowledge!

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation, Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to John’s Tai Chi Drill Post Exercise

  1. Steven Smith says:

    A tidy post…thanks for the link.

    And I’m with you: I like narrow (I often use a pose even narrower). It gets me in touch with the real width of my pelvis.

  2. Thanks for the plug on my postings. I’ve really been enjoying reading yours too. We can all learn from each other. That’s one of the things I really like about the net these days. There’s just so much out there.

Leave a Reply

