Don’t turn at the knee

Walking into work this morning, I almost slipped on the slushy pavement. I put my foot down heel first and was able to regain my balance before toppling.  Perhaps it was due to all that Chen taiji heel sliding step I used to practice, or maybe it’s just having better balance overall 😉

Last night’s standing session consisted of 4 postures held for 25 breaths each. I only lost count once and that was during the universal post posture. I was doing standing in the same room that my wife was playing video games, and I got side tracked for a bit.. my bad. But, if you’re “good”, then you should be able to do meditation anywhere, right?

During the standing, I had a sensation that the left side of my body was higher than my right side. Additionally, I began to feel some throbbing waves in my left forearm area. Just sensations that come with the territory, I tell myself.

Feeling a bit energetic after standing, I wanted to do some Chen taiji single handed silk reeling. While working on the turn before shifting in the Chen style side horse stance, I could feel some points where I was turning from my knee INSTEAD of turning at the hips/kua! 

To get an idea of what I am talking about, stand feet slightly wider than shoulder width with toes pointed out very slightly. Shift your weight to the left leg. While the weight is still on your left leg with your hips pointing directly forward, turn your torso to the left about 15 degrees. Pay close attention to your body when you turn the torso.

When turning, did you turn at the hip/kua or at the knee?  Did you feel any tension along the outside or edges of the knee? If so, try shifting your mind a bit and turn by relaxing the left hip and really sit into the left kua. To initiate the turn, the left kua goes up while the right kua goes down. The turn happens at the hip area and not the knee. Dig?

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation, Taiji and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t turn at the knee

  1. Rick Matz says:

    When I’m standing, I prefer to be in my basement where it’s quiet, facing a wall. I guess I’m just out of the way, and I’m not tested by distractions.

    About feeling some strange misalignment like one shoulder is higher or something, our bodies are twisted because our minds are twisted… or maybe it’s the other way around. I don’t know, but standing helps to straighten out both.

  2. Steven Smith says:

    Oooo…I twist right at the waist. You said hips forward, then you said turn, so I left my hips in place and turned. I enjoy very much and spend lots of time teaching others to wind the waist. It’s a great leveler for me.

    If I don’t practice, I end up twisted into a left shoulder higher too. My right side works so hard.

Leave a Reply

