Taiji Tidbits – 11/20/08

Last night I decided to mix things up a bit by putting some music in the background. Additionally, I changed the location to my office area instead of bedroom. My office area is in a bit of disarray right now, so to try and hide some of the mess, I closed my eyes 😉 Additionally, the music (And the Stars Go With You by Jonn Serrie) was great! It’s been a while since I listened to some space ambient type of stuff and I felt quite refreshed with it.

No major changes or feelings during the standing. I did 3 postures with 25 breaths each. No major tension in thighs or shoulder region. Maybe it has something to do with the music that’s calming? Or maybe the music is distracting in such a way that I was unable to sense the tension? Who knows.. 

To really mix things up, I decided to do some chen taiji single handed silk reeling exercises.  I kept myself in a very high stance with feet slightly wider than shoulder width apart.  I didn’t worry too much about the whole mind-qi thing, instead I just tried to relax into the posture and execute the silk reeling gently and slowly.  Overall, it felt good to do single handed silk reeling. I did feel some slight “trailing behind” on count 2 where the hand transitions from being at your side (waist height) to being in front at dantien. I’ve always had a bit of trouble with the timing on this transition as often my weight shift would be completed before my hand was in place.  I did begin to feel some burning sensation running down my thigh, especially when I had to correct myself to make sure both hips were the same height. Sometimes one hip is higher than the order as a way to compensate for lack of strength.

After my standing session was complete, I tinkered around on the PC for a couple of minutes before heading to the bedroom. However, after getting to the bedroom, I wanted to do more taiji.  So, I found a little area next to my bed and proceeded to work on chen taiji double handed silk reeling.  I had forgotten how much distinction is placed on shifting and turning in chen style. At least in my own instruction, I was taught to shift fully before turning the waist. Over time, the process could be smoothed out, but the distinction must be clear. Additionally, I remembered that I needed to keep the torso area relatively still and calm.  This helps to turn at the waist using the kua instead of turning by twisting the spine.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

