Relax the Jaw for a Better Night's Sleep

Since about my sophomore year in college, I have been afflicted with TMJ Syndrome. Maybe ‘afflicted’ is not the right word, but this *thing* has been with me for a while. Basically, I keep my jaw clenched during the night and sometimes throughout the day, resulting in pain and soreness.  The pain started getting so bad that at times I was unable to eat or open my mouth very wide.

One of the first things recommended to me was the use of painkillers to mask the symptoms. For a period of time, I was taking 800 mg of ibuprofen 3 times a day! Just for comparison, the recommended dose is 200 mg every 4-6 hours!  A bit later, I did some blood tests and they noted traces of the medicine in my system and warned of the potential impact to my liver, so I stopped taking pain medication.

Another solution that was recommended to me was the use of a mouth guard.  Basically, this is a dental appliance that you wear at night. The appliance is designed in such a way to have little spacers that stay between your top and bottom sets of teeth, thereby keeping your mouth slightly open and not allowing the jaw muscle to fully clamp.  This worked for a while until I got sick of repeatedly going into the dentist’s office to have them adjust the appliance.

However, one of the dentists actually began trying to recommend some natural options such as placing a warm towel on my jaw for a little bit before bed or meditation.  Additionally, she recommended eliminating caffeine and sugar from my diet and try to do more stress reducing activities.

A lot of times, the TMJ makes itself more apparent during times of stress, other times, I either just don’t feel it or I am numb to it, however I know it’s always present due to the common ‘clicking’ of my jaw.  Last night, after a session of zhan zhuang, I was laying in bed and began to notice how tense my jaw was.  Then it dawned on my, why not practice some of the zhan zhuang visualizations on my jaw?  Laying on my back, I started doing some abdominal breathing and then began visualizing the tension in my jaw melting downwards and out the back of my head.

The whole ‘melting visualization is a technique I use during zhan zhuang to release the tension in my shoulder, back and arms. While not a surprise, the more I visualized the melting, the more I felt my jaw relax.  Additionally, the more I visualized melting downward, the more my whole body became relax and I started having this sort of ‘sinking into the bed’ sensation.  The ‘sinking into bed sensation’ is a technique I employ during my 20 minute power naps if I need a pick me up. I would basically stay in this ‘sinking bed sensation” for the full 20 minutes without ever really falling asleep, almost like a form of self hypnosis, however I would ‘awaken’ fully refreshed.

I am not sure why it took me so long to make the connection between zhan zhuang and TMJ but I am glad I did. I will now work on ‘melting away the tension’ throughout the day 🙂

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Health, Meditation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Relax the Jaw for a Better Night's Sleep

  1. bai yiming says:

    I have identical problems, sometimes, but the reason with me is a cross bitting teeth order. Nobody let me have bracelets, when I was young for corretion, now the upper teeth bite in front of and to the left of the lower, and that can lead to pains and a kind of blokade. Then I need to relax deeply, maybe in a hot bath, do some soft massaging near the ear, and it will get loose in a day or two. Luckily, it seems to turn up less and less.
    Am I more relaxed with growing age?

  2. wujimon says:

    Bai,
    I am glad to hear that it’s turning up less for you as you grow older. It’s the opposite for me, but then again, I’m not really that old (lower spectrum of the Generation X crew). I do massaging near the ear and jaw joint all the time, but for me, the melting imagery helped quite a bit. Thx for sharing your own experiences.

  3. Steven Smith says:

    I’ve helped a number of people through TMJD using jaw massage (outside and inside) and Cranio-sacral therapies. The Cranio allows for an unwinding of tensions and provides deep relaxation and access to a variety of personal things: like memories of source trauma or visions or emotional releasing.

    Nice work connecting it to practice. We don’t do enough range of motion or jaw or eyes focused work in these internal arts.

  4. wujimon says:

    Thanks Steve for the heads up on the Cranio-Sacral stuff. I had a brief glance at it and it’s something I will for sure check up on more.

Leave a Reply

