Taiji Bell Body

Lately, I have been coming across more and more references to the ‘Taiji Bell Body’. One explanation I have heard is to extend the dantien in front and the mingmen behind you in such a way that your body creates a bell shape. Ok.. sounds about right, but how?

Then, I ran across the following definition which outlines the 5 points that make up the Taiji Bell Body (Source: Yang 22 Movement Extract by Wei Shuren):

  1. Neck – The hoop that maintains the bell. Movable.
  2. Chest – ‘dead’ zone, unmovable
  3. Waist – central point, movable.
  4. Midpoint between waist and tailbone – unmovable
  5. Tailbone (Coccyx) – clapper of bell, movable

One thing about the 5 points caught my attention, that is the idea of the tailbone being movable. Maybe it’s a subtle movement, but in my own practice, I don’t consciously try to move my tailbone much at all. In fact, I generally try to keep it elongated as I’m working on the ‘head up, tailbone down’ bow in my own practice.

There is not that much information floating around the web regarding the Taiji Bell Body, so I am unsure about it’s significance.  Regardless, the concept of the “Taiji Bell Body” is something I will put on the back burner for now until I understand it. Practice, practice, practice 🙂

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taiji Bell Body

  1. Flagon says:

    Interesting. My teacher makes a big deal about moving the tailbone and untill I met him I’d never hear much mention of it wrt taiji training. I think one of the classical writings says something like “the tailbone (weilu/weigu) initiates movement”.

    I’ll ask him what he thinks about the Bell Body concept.

    Thanks

  2. wayne hansen says:

    i had a friend who did fu style and it was quite pronounced and deliberate.
    however for people who do it indiscriminatly it is an error that is easy to capatlise on.

  3. wujimon says:

    I have only see deliberate moving of the tailbone in a small set of styles, specifically a branch of chen style coming out of beijing. Other than that, I have not seen much nor heard much about this. However, some of the chen village style may talk about the role of the hips in silk reeling and depending upon the camp, this could result in some buttock movement, which moves the tailbone.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

