Goal: Regular Meditation

One of my goals of the upcoming year is to try and set a little bit of time aside each day to meditate.  Last night, I did roughly 15 minutes of meditation right before bed. 10 minutes was spent sitting in zazen, with the remaining 5 spent standing in zhan zhuang.

During these sessions, I will either stand or sit, whichever I feel like doing at the time. I like to sit first as I feel it’s easier to ‘center’ myself in zazen. As soon as the physical pains start to kick in, I will stand. Last night, I noticed my posture getting very lazy and my inner thigh muscles tightening up, so I stood up.

While last night’s session was mostly spent sitting, I have a feeling I will be changing over to do more standing in zhan zhuang than sitting in zazen.  Either way, both methds are good and still count as ‘meditation’ in my book 🙂

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in General, Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goal: Regular Meditation

  1. rickmatz says:

    That’s a great goal. When I am introduced to the Wu style way of practicing ZZ, I will follow suit. In the meantime, I am just trying to make sure I practice the form every day.

  2. wujimon says:

    Hey Rick.

    I didn’t know Wu style had their own take on ZZ. I know the chen version of ZZ is different than the yiquan take. In chen, there is basically one posture using the universal post (embarace balloon) stance. Then the next step is to hold various form postures in ZZ.

    I’ve gone back to beginning and currently working on basic wuji (hands at sides).

    I’d love to hear more about the Wu differences when you get there 🙂

  3. rickmatz says:

    You can bet on it.

    My philosophy on embarking on learning the Wu style has been to do it their way. So far, so good.

    I’ll keep you “posted.”

  4. taiwandeutscher says:

    Same, same here too.
    I meditate in my garden, with watering not so easy, best with pulling out the weeds.
    Standing before sleeping is nice, I make it up to 5 days a week, but when tiered of no use.
    So I’m looking forward to the winter vacation (4 weeks!) to get more training, more meditation and more zz.

  5. wujimon says:

    Hey TD:
    Right now most of my meditation is done right before bed (either zazen or zhan zhuang). I have yet to bring it fully into everyday life 🙂

Leave a Reply

