Cultivation of Potentiality

While playing the Yang long form, I suddenly got this weird feeling of ‘cultivating potential’. Not really sure how to describe it, but it felt as if I was ready at any and all times to release this energy I was building up. The form began to feel like I was slowly cultivating potential energy.  As I moved, from one grasps swallows tail to the next, I never once felt as if the energy had been released.

Even when I played postures like Single Whip or Part Wild Horse’s Mane, I never felt as if the energy leaked. Even though Brush Knee Push Step has a strike, I never felt as if the energy was released during the strike. The energy just slowly flowed into the next transition, like a smooth, unbreaking wave.

Rounded and expansiveness body, yet concealing the hidden power ready to be released at any given time.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cultivation of Potentiality

  1. Rick Matz says:

    A friend of mine who practices Sun style, has mentioned this same feeling. He said they never quite release all of their energy either; always holding something back in reserve.

  2. wujimon says:

    Hi Rick. I would think most of the ‘other’ taiji styles have similar notions of holding back reserve energy just in case..

    A lot of times with chen, I can feel the energy somewhat leaking, either due to the fajin in the form or just by the movements themselves. But for the latter, I can’t really blame the style as it could be my own issues in trying to do the movements.

  3. taijiquestion says:

    Good post Wujimon, that raised a whole lot of nebulous questions in my mind that are slowly trying to formulate themselves. This whole business of energy obtainment? generation? storage? circulation? recycling? use? release? retention? Say the energy is cultivated and retained, as you described. What happens at the Close of the form? Is the energy in the form of qi, that you tuck away, as it were, in the lower dantian? That sounds obvious and straight-out-of-umpteen-books, I know. But is there more to say? πŸ™‚ Guess I’m just asking for future posts on this topic as they happen. πŸ™‚

  4. wujimon says:

    Hi TJQ:

    It might sound kind of contradictory, but I don’t really focus much on ‘energetic gathering’ visualizations. I feel the energy is already within us, we just need to realize and tap into it.

    In my own practice, I focus mainly on the circulation aspect. I just make sure my joints are open and let the body do the rest. Of course, I nudge things along with a bit of intention-based spot direction (hand, elbow, dantien, back, shoulder, hand, etc) during chen form. In yang, I just relax and let it flow, focusing on everything, yet at the same time nothing.. kinda weird.. πŸ™‚

  5. renli says:

    Hello. That feeling occurred to me before I learned to fajing in yang’s style. I first felt the urge to release that potential in in brush knee and twist step, I believe πŸ™‚

  6. wujimon says:

    @Renli:
    Now that you mention it, I think I also feel a bit of it in the brush knee posture πŸ˜‰ For me, it really shines in the grasp swallows tail sequence!

  7. silkreeling says:

    if you haven’t experience this feeling throughout the form then make it one of the next milestone to hit. This can only be achieved when the body and mind are properly relaxed and aligned.

    this is also the same feeling/ energy which you apply yin-yang to achieve taiji, but that’s a another level.

    i am slowly getting this feeling back after months of neglect.

  8. wujimon says:

    Hey Silkreeling, I strive for this feeling all the time. Once I got a glimpse of it, I know I want more πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

