What Happened to Spring?

Where I live, it seems as if the weather basically jumped from winter to summer. Last week, temps were in the 50F range and now they’re 70F. While I do enjoy the bright sunny day, I don’t like to train when it’s too hot or humid outside. I remember last year, I went outside to the nearby park when it was like 92F! The weather was SO humid and I really didn’t want to sweat, so I did my chen form in an ultra high stance.

Yesterday, I started off the session with a bit of zhanzhung under the shade of nearby trees. I then went straight into the Chen laojia yilu set. The set felt nice, but I began to sweat a bit after beginning the second section. While sweating is not necessarily a bad thing, I’m not fond of heading back to work drenched in sweat.

After finishing the Chen set, I did a round of the Yang long form. Even to this day, I’m still amazed at how different the 2 sets feel. The Yang set felt nice, light, smooth and not much sweating. My mind was calm and I could feel the slight breeze blowing against my arm. A great way to finish the training session.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Happened to Spring?

  1. chessman71 says:

    Because of the tile that I have available to train (mostly mid-day) and the increasing temperature, I’m finding that the more “internal” parts of my practice are getting left behind. I can’t stand doing standing or simple qigong while being bathed in sweat. But you get drenched in Taipei just walking out the door.

    So I’ve started doing seated meditation in front of the fan. Bliss!

  2. wujimon says:

    I hear ya, man! I gotta find a little corner niche to hide in to just do zhan zhuang and postures training or something, the outside is just not cutting it.

    Of course, everytime I think this way, I hear the voice of my wushu instructor telling me about how his master trained on top of a roof in the scorching sun to cool himself off from all the internal energy he had manifested… 🙂

    However, I’m not so sure about zazen in front of a fan. Maybe off to the side as I don’t like direct wind in my face. Maybe that’s just me 🙂

  3. chessman71 says:

    I have it blow on my back in accordance with TCM principles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

