Chen On The Mind

Wow.. I didn’t realize how often I think of Chen throughout the day! I caught myself multiple times just walking around doing Chen silk reeling arm movements! I caught myself multiple times standing, and then unconsciously stepping out into preparation for Chen silk reeling stance! I caught myself thinking about dantien rotations and qi paths…

By the immortal words of Willie Nelson, here’s an Ode to Chen:

Maybe I didn’t hold you
All those lonely, lonely times
And I guess I never told you
I’m so happy that you’re mine
Little things I should have said and done
I just never took the time

You were always on my mind
You were always on my mind

Source: Willie Nelson – Always on My Mind

I was talking to a buddy of mine about training.  Like myself, he has dabbled in multiple styles over time. He mentioned this idea of daily, weekly, and monthly training. He has certain things he does daily, certain things weekly, and certain things monthly. He’s currently pursuing some “old Yang” stuff and has pushed Chen to be part of his “monthly training”.

I then have another taiji buddy that does EVERY SINGLE FORM HE KNOWS EVERY SINGLE DAY! This includes a gang load of qigong, some xingyi, some bagua, some liuhebafa, some wushu taiji, and like 6-8 reps of a chen set! 

Talk about comparing either end of the spectrum!

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chen On The Mind

  1. zenmindsword says:

    attachment, attachment! bring out the black pouch ๐Ÿ™‚ seriously let the thoughts run. after a while as you get more into yang and you start to get something your thoughts will recede as your mind becomes more focussed on what you have. that’s why i like zen and taiji brings out the understanding of zen without practicing zen ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. wujimon says:

    Thanks ZMS! I figured as such. I remember my days in zazen where I’m supposed to just let the thoughts pass by. It was easier to do when I was in college, but seems quite a bit more difficult now ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Rick Matz says:

    I think there might be a twelve step program for you …

  4. wujimon says:

    Haha! That’s a good one, Rick! I think I went a bit overboard quoting Willie Nelson, but it’s what I felt and what came out at the time ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. chenquestion says:

    WM, just one more thought, I’ve enjoyed reading about your energy-work and it seems to me you’re really getting somewhere (well ahead of me I might add!). Focusing on Yang TJQ methods might take this flower and really let it bloom. And don’t they have their own, subtler form of silkreeling anyway?

    FWIW, I believe that Yang can help Chen, but I see little way for Chen to help Yang. Just my gut feeling but it comes from a Chen chauvinist.

    Sounds like you have contacts who practice a variety of Yang styles and maybe one of the Yang varients will give you a new, rewarding path? Anyway, enough free advice from Joe Amateur here. Go, Man, Go!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. taiwandeutscher says:

    Ja, I know that, tingling between a combind form 1st + 2 nd street, old frame (coreographed by a Taiwan master), some new frame, 1st street, learning, with interuptions, huleijia, doing some Yang 37, 64 and also 108 in the Taiwan tradition of Wang Zihe.
    I’ve not the time to practice all everyday, tend to work like your 1st buddy, rotating during the week.
    So it was Yang for a long begining, then some years more Chen, now I’m back to old 108 Yang, which I find the more difficult, the more I train.
    Chen can support Yang?
    Not so sure!
    Keep on going!

  7. wujimon says:

    Wow.. thanks for all the encouragement, guys. I really appreciate it. However, it’s interesting to note ppl feel that training in yang can help chen but not vice versa …

Leave a Reply

