The Focus on Yang Starts Today

Starting on the 16th day of January in the year 2007, I will dedicate three months to strictly Yang Style taiji. I’ve been jumping back and forth on this issue for quite some time, trying to figure out which path is the best for me.

In my training, I do some Yang, I do some Chen, then I sit here at the computer comparing and contrasting the methods and trying to figure out the reason behind the difference. Instead, I will just do and explore.

There are many reasons for trying this out, but ultimately it comes down to feeling better after a session of Yang versus a session of Chen. I tend to feel more relaxed, more aware, more focused, just more of everything without the knee pains 🙂

I began today’s session with zhanzhuang training. Usually I would’ve done it for a fixed 5 or so mins over lunch, but this time I just let myself relax into the practice. I held the posture until I felt like I was ready to begin. No forcing, no looking at times, just waiting for my body to let me know it was time.

This reminded me of a practice from my wushu days. My coach would tell me to stand with my feet together and eyes closed. Remain in this position until I am ready to begin. But once I start, do not stop. No hesitation.

After some time, I opened up my eyes, shifted my with onto the right leg and stood with my feet together until I felt centered and ready. After a couple of deep breaths, I slowly lifted my left foot, resting on the tip toes. Slowly, I visualized energy coming from the ground and up my body. Following this energy, I lifted my left foot and rested it shoulder width apart from my right foot.

In working with these type of visualizations, I noted my breathing was much calmer, my movement much smoother, my mind more intent, my mind calmer.

It felt a little bit funny not doing any Chen in this session. But overall, I felt good. Calm and rejuvenated. Now that’s a training session 🙂

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Focus on Yang Starts Today

  1. zenmindsword says:

    good luck! can i say something? mentally take everything else and put it into a black pouch and file it away – this will help you focus on just yang. its good to have 3 months as an objective but i would think of it as a guide instead – its like what we say “don’t move fast but be quick” 🙂

  2. chenquestion says:

    Hi Wujimon, I’m happy for you in this decision. Sounds like your body & spirit is trying to tell you something. If I may chime in with Zenmindsword’s good advice, I’d say, just consider yourself a Yang style practitioner and follow that good Yang feeling. Looking into the other style(s) served a purpose, and may do so once again, who knows? Meanwhile who knows what progress you’ll make by just following what’s likely your “true” style? BTW, I thank you again for your counsel to me about using silk-reeling movments to improve my Lazy About Tying Coat. It made a big difference, though my work there’s not finished. Wishing you good practice and happy days ahead. 🙂

  3. wujimon says:

    @ZMS:
    Great thoughts on filing things away in a black pouch. My hardest thing is to not “compare and contrast” like I normally do. Hopefully this won’t be too hard to do as I kind of did both concurrently, but we’ll see. I must admit, it’s already difficult not to jump into chen discussions and such..

    As for the 3 months, I’m sure it will be longer but just wanted to put something out there in regards to timing.

    @CQ:
    You have a point about body/spirit trying to say something. We’ve all heard stories about different style being catered for different body types and such, but I think people don’t really consider the mental/spirit side of the art in regards to this. I feel it’s time to explore this little nudge that has been going off in my head from time to time.. 🙂

  4. Shang Lee says:

    After dabbling with a few different styles and starting fresh with a new one, I have to say that focusing on one style does have a good side effect of, well, focus!

    I started Sun style some time ago after dabbling with Chen and Yang (mainly). Recently, I “rekindled” with Yang style again just because others were doing it in a class. I have to say that my posture changed dramatically from what i remembered it to be. Maybe due to a different (hopefully better!) understanding of the kua. I think if we can learn the crux of one style, the same principles should be applicable to others. The difference could be on the emphasis.

  5. wujimon says:

    Hi Shang.

    I’ve been contemplating the idea of starting with a “fresh new” style and then coming back to potentially revisit my old yang/chen sets. However, instead of Sun, I’ve had my eyes on the Wu Jianquan style of taiji.

    Not exactly sure why, just something about it…

  6. Shang Lee says:

    hi wujimon, just a manual pingback on choosing a tai chi style that suits you, based on your comment on styles. hope the pingback works next time!

  7. silkreeling says:

    congrats! if i were in your shoes and faced the same issues, i would do the same. its a no brainer!

    good luck buddy. i hope you still welcome me to provide comments. all families of taiji share common principles and are not totally different.

  8. wujimon says:

    Of course, silkreeling.. no comment is ever denied. One strange thing about yang.. but I’ll post that later 🙂

Leave a Reply

