Plantar Fasciitis and Taiji

During tonight’s zhanzhuang session I started feeling some pain in my right hip and right foot. I’ve had the right hip pain thing for some time. The hip thing, I attribute it back to shifting into my right hip while holding my son instead of keeping my hip aligned and sinking the weight down into my thighs. This right foot thing is a new pain that I hadn’t really felt too much before.

I used to get pains in my feet during extended zhanzhuang sessions but those went away over time. Are they coming back? A couple of months back, I had issues with Plantar Fasciitis. After consulting the doctor during a routine checkup, he gave me some calf stretching exercises to do. I did these consistently for 4-6 weeks every day and the pain went away.

Taiji@Stagmont writes:

At Taiji@Stagmont we know that plantar fasciitis is the result of wrong practice of the principle of rooting into the ground. The practice of taiji is meant to be relaxing and good for health. Experiencing heel pain is totally inconsistent with the principles and objectives of practicing taiji.

— source: Heel Pain

If the heel pain is the result of incorrect practice, then what is the correct practice? What’s the correct way to root to the ground? I’ve been taught the weight should be focused at the bubbling well point aka the area behind the balls of the feet. Could this be the reason for heel pain?

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Plantar Fasciitis and Taiji

  1. Cindy says:

    For some reason, I always visualize that my toes and front part of the feet grasp the ground instead of heels during practice. This might be from my previous Qigong practice. I don’t remember.

  2. wujimon says:

    Hi Cindy. I think it’s a good idea to visualize the toes grasping the ground. I did this for a while until I started focusing on targeting the weight to the bubbling well points. Perhaps I’ll revisit this notion and see if it helps. Thanks!

  3. David L. says:

    Well .. we train so as to place the weight on the heel, it seems to be a Wu specialy, allowing the feet to be fully relaxed and assisting in full leg turns.

  4. wujimon says:

    Hi David. This is interesting,thanks for sharing. I did a little test and can definitely feel my foot relaxed when I put the weight on the heels.

    I think it might be a “direction of action” kind of thing. In my understanding, most of the wu applications are done with the opponent in front, whereas in chen, I think a lot of the apps happens with the shoulder, and the opponent off to the side.

    Very interesting. Definitely something I will further explore in my own training.

Leave a Reply

