Online Backups

I’ve written a couple of times about the importance of backing up one’s data and some of my own approaches (Backup Time, The Offsite Solution, Remember to Encrypt, Backup Separation).  I’ve decided to readdress this issue after the recent purchase of my 400GB Samsung SATA hard drive.

Why would I need to do something like this after a hard drive upgrade? No real reason other than to add other points in case I get a break in the chain somewhere. This new method is basically Set-N-Forget, meaning, set it up once and let it automagically backup your data in the background.

Also, this method not only encrypts your data in transit, but you can also use your own passphrase or encryption key! However, be aware that if you forget your password to decrypt the data, you’re out of luck!

Best of all, it’s easy to setup and IT’S FREE!  Alrighty.. have I gotten your attention yet? You’re probably curious on what the world am I talking about. Well, here it is . . .

Sign up for your free Mozy Account

If you click on the above link to sign up, you’ll get an extra 256MB (making it roughly 2.3G of backup space) and so will I. I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks now and I’m quite happy with it.

Backup your data NOW!

[tags]techie, backup, online, mozy[/tags]
About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Online Backups

  1. Cindy says:

    I agree that frequent backup is very important. Everything is digital in these days. Thanks for recommending the online backup services.

  2. wujimon says:

    Hi Cindy. You’re right.. all it takes is that 1 time. I try to spread the word so people can avoid that “1 time” 🙂

  3. Knowing what I know about people and computers, I would never trust my backups to other people’s computers!

  4. wujimon says:

    Hi MD. I agree with you about the security aspect, but I feel Mozy addresses this concern by allowing people to use their own encryption keys. I see online backup as more of an “insurance” things and it’s my 4th level of backup. Not to be primary, but supplementary in one’s backup scheme 😉

  5. Dan says:

    I’ve used IBackup for my online backup and storage needs and I’ve been very impressed with it. IBackup applications are easy to use, flexible, and with several solid features. I’ve been regularly backing my critical files and folders by simply selecting the files and scheduling them for backups at a convenient time.

    IBackup accounts can be accessed from almost any computer and browser with provisions extending to handhelds. The backup application features an extremely simple yet powerful user intuitive screen, easy selection of files/folders for backup and retrieval and for backup scheduling. All communication is encrypted using superior 128-bit SSL encryption and 256-bit AES encryption on storage. The data retention benefits of our service provide better snapshot-based versioning of up to 10 file versions from which older versions can be retrieved at any time.

    I am particularly impressed with the file sharing feature that allows creation of sharable links and emailing them to others. You can enable file/ folder locking for modification restrictions and enable versioning to view history of changes made to a file for the data shared. You can backup open files and individual mailboxes with IBackup. There is even an edition that supports international characters.

    So store all your important files and folders with IBackup’s secure server. Even if your house burns down, you will have a copy of your files. Check this link http://www.ibackup.com

Leave a Reply

