Tools to Find Related Topics

I apologize for the duplicate reposts of entries in my Site Feed. I made a couple of site changes to the way things work that caused it. Don’t be alarmed 🙂

One of the weird things about blogging formats is once an entry is off the main page, it’s quite hard to stumble upon it unless you specifically search for it. In order to combat this, I’ve added a couple of things to the site:

  1. Popular Posts Sidebar Widget
  2. Tags and Popular Tags
  3. Related Posts Listings

The Popular Posts Sidebar Widget on my mainpage is powered by Alex King’s Popularity Contest Plugin.  Basically, this plugin determines the popularity of a post by the number of page views, comments, pingbacks, etc and lists the Top 10 Popular Posts.

Most posts now contain a listing of associated “tags”. Tags are basically key terms which I have assigned to the posts to further describe the content of the posts. These are different than categories in that they are free form, meaning I can basically assign whatever I want. Instead of having a gazillion categories (yang taiji, chen taiji, etc), I defined a high level category of Taiji, but then in the post, I can further define the content through the use of tags. I often associate the style, and a particular name if referenced.

Example:

Tags: Taiji, chen, cxw, video

In the above example, a post would be tagged as ‘Taiji’ (note, it’s also part of the Taiji Category’, ‘chen’ to denote Chen Style Taijiquan, ‘cxw’ to make a reference to Chen Xiaowang, and ‘video’ to denote a link to a video of some sort. These tags are in turn hyperlinked to sections on the site that will list all posts with associated tags. In in post tag listing and the Popular Tags sidebar widget are powered by the Ultimate Tag Warrior Plugin.

You can now also find Related Posts listed with each individual posts. This feature is powered by the Related Entries Plugin.  Basically, it find related posts and lists them with the individual posts. The reason my feed posts got republished is now I’ve incorporated the related posts listing directly into the site feed! You can do the same by checking out Quick Online Tips on how to do it!

 

[tags]blogging, wordpress, plugins[/tags]
About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tools to Find Related Topics

  1. Cindy says:

    Thanks for sharing the oranization techniques of your blog! It is certainly helpful. I have a question: Is there a way to show all the categories of the blogs in one place similar to site maps? People use various ways to search for content. Taging is popular but not many people know how to use it. Being able to browse all the articles can co-exist to aid in digging useful articles.

  2. wujimon says:

    Hi Cindy.

    On the right side of the page, you will see all the categories for my blog listed. You can then browse all the entries for a particular category in that manner. I’ll consider adding another archive listing that may be easier to browse.

  3. Cindy says:

    Yes, you are right. I somehow ignored the Categories on the right hand side. My current blog hosting, Blogger, does not offer this feature. The updated version has it. I will try it out. Thanks again for sharing the tips!

Leave a Reply

