Taiji Training Distractions

Alrighty… time for all the keyboard warriors to stand up and face the piper. What are your top taiji training distractions? What are those things that keep you from getting in more training time? Maybe you have great self-control and it’s easy for you to stay centered and focus, but I admit, for myself, it’s difficult.

For me, all of my training is done solo.  This means there is no one to watch over my shoulder and tell me to train. There is no one to really compare myself against in a classroom setting. There is only me and only I really know how much time and effort I put into the training.  Ultimately, it’s quite difficult to stay motivated.

I can easily say my top training distraction is …. THE COMPUTER. I can always find a reason to get on the computer.  The allure of reading blogs, surfing forums, or justing mess around with my blog design is quite powerful and often draws me into it’s grasp.  To get in some decent traing, I either have to do it during lunch at work or in a completely different room in the house. If at home, I find it easy to train in my bedroom in the dark.

Another distraction for me is watching and/or reading about taiji. I can pop in a taiji demonstration video and watch it for hours, critiquing all the alignment issues, shifting issues, whatever issues that keep distracted from training myself. At times, it’s easier to become an “armchair warrior” in the confines of my own world.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taiji Training Distractions

  1. Here are various approaches.

    1. Get a teacher who gives you assignments, or sets goals for you to achieve.

    2. Set times, for various activities. Set alarms, if necessary, when it is time for the next activity, (such as Taiji at 7:30, the get up from the computer and practice for the alotted time.

    3. Set a number of repetitions for the form, to be performed, no matter what, rain or shine, early or late, tired or sick, travelling or home, etc. Do your 500 circles, and ten repetions of Lao Jia, and hour of standing, or whatever, like a good addiction. You will find the practice gets more and more addictive, rewarding, and enjoyable every day.

    4. Get a practice partner, or several.

    5. Depending on your nature, early bird or nocturnal, you might do Taiji early first thing in the AM,or late at night, when no one else is around, and the silence is most enriching of the experience.

    6. Find the ideal spot, a park or whatever, and go every day, at the same time.

  2. wujimon says:

    Great points, IA. I think the key for me is set time and set location. However, I will be keeping your other points in the back burner.

    Funny you should mention goals, as it closely aligns with my post about goals for myself.

  3. zenmindsword says:

    Once upon a time
    In taiji la la land

    A system we learned
    But somehow

    When it came to practice
    The motivation was never strong

    Excuses here
    And excuses there

    Looking back now
    I realized why

    Its because
    Just playing the form

    By basically going thru moves
    Is a boring exercise

    Especially when done
    Many, many times

    Goals I can set
    But never keep

    And I keep resolving
    And I keep resolving

    Resolutions are
    But a bunch of words

    The day I learned
    A form where I had

    To seek the mind
    Never had boredom

    Struck and in fact
    It has become

    An obsession
    And thus I practice

    Every day whenever
    A moment I have

    Goals and motivations
    No longer needed

    And I practice and hell
    If 10 years had not gone by

  4. Pingback: wujimon » Two Weeks of No Taiji!

  5. Oskar says:

    Hi! I want to say thanks for an interesting site about a subject I have had an interest in for a long time now. I have been lurking and reading the posts avidly so just wanted to express my thanks for providing me with some very good reading material. I look forward to more, and taking a more active part in the discussions here.

Leave a Reply

