Internal Arts IA

Wow.. Internal Arts IA IS ON A ROLL! After writing an entry about the silk reeling primer, another post regarding Form Practice Suggestions appears!

One common challenge facing Taiji practitioners is the process of integrating elements of transition and motion, while sustaining focus on stance and posture.

How true!!! Definitely a blog to keep an eye on! This especially relates back to my posts about breaking structure (Part 1 & Part 2). I think I need to take a step back a bit and try to focus on layers instead of the whole kit and kaboodle. This reminds me of a post I read somewhere about doing 40 minute sets! Most of my long form sets last about 15-20 mins, I can’t imagine stretching it out to 40, but I’m willing to give it a shot!

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Internal Arts IA

  1. minamoto says:

    IMHO, I beleive a good exercise for lengthening the form is to focus on relaxation (song). If you are trying constantly to maintain perfect posture, keep a sense of enemy and visualize apps, you are bound to lose focus and shorten your breath and go faster.

    the taiji classics talk about doing the form 3 times. each rep has a different focus. I tried doing one of the reps relaxed, like i was going for a leisurely stroll. I still tried to perform the form correctly, but I just let it happen. This made my form stretch out to about 35-40 mins.

    An interesting byproduct of this training was that I could tell where I lost that relaxation. I know that sounds obvious, but sometimes you get so involved in all the fine points, you dont realize your shoulders have risen, or your kua has tightened, etc. Now, I pay attention to that and my form seems to flow better.

    Thoughts?

    L

  2. wujimon says:

    Hey L.

    Great thoughts on focusing on relaxation.. the first principle… ahh, I’m afraid I may be focusing on the wrong things when I can’t even relax correctly :)I agree, perhaps focusing more on relaxing will shed some light on where the tension is building!

  3. lgs says:

    Heres my understanding of form work, according to yang (banhou lineage) principles:

    learn the form at whatever speed feels smooth. then slow it down. if the form takes you 20 minutes at start, slow it to 40. breathing should be like a fine thread, both in and out (if youve never taken classical singing lessons, consider it, as this is one of the first lessons!). once youve gotten to the point where you can really stretch it out and yet keep the qi flow going properly, then speed it up to attack speed, which should be done like a pulse, not in a blitz like wushu. some moves-like rollback-will be a little slower whereas some-like wardoff or press- are done like lightning.

    i need to practice. 😀

  4. wujimon says:

    Hi LGS. I like the visualization of “breathing should be like a fine thread”, I’d perhaps extend the analogy further and say “fine thread of silk” to emphasize the delicateness 🙂

Leave a Reply

