Style affect content?

After applying the Hemingway theme to my blog, I had the sudden inclination to wrote a long well-thought out entry due to the simplicity of the theme and what the theme made me feel. Not sure if it’s the outer appearance of the theme or the name of the theme itself, but it’s a very nice theme that makes me feel calm inside.

This got me thinking about taiji and noting how I personally feel that style affects execution. When I do the yang set, I neither feel rushed nor too slow, I can easily do the form and just focus on the current movement. However, when I do yang, at times I feel that I have to consciously slow myself down to work on the postures. This reminded me about a previous entry of mine in which had a quote from Wai Lun Choi (WLC) that I will reiterate here:

“you must understand the Principles-don’t talk style, only one style-human style! You must analyze and understand the physics and physiology of movement.”

Hmm.. This is rather interesting b/c Choi teaches many different styles (taiji, bagua, xingyi, liuhebafa, lama, shaolin, etc) and often talks about understanding the principle and essence of said style. When doing the crane animal form of LHBF, think of the way a crane moves and how the crane swoops in for an attack. Think of bagua as going around the center, xingyi as smashing thru the center and taiji as becoming the center. These are all quotes I have heard to come from him, but what about the notion of not thinking in stylistic terms.

Maybe it’s really a “characterist of movement” issue? I’ve posed a similar question to a long-time-training taiji friend of mine and I noted how I felt more connected in the yang than I did in the chen. My friend commented feeling more connected in the wu than the yang, but also noted of having received a lot of very detailed corrections on the yang and not so much on the wu. I fall into the same situation as I’ve received WAY MORE in depth corrections regarding structure, dantien rotation, yi/qi intentions in the chen than the yang. Perhaps that’s the reason why I feel more connected in the yang b/c I can see all of my flaws and shortcomings in the chen?

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Style affect content?

  1. lgs says:

    aaaugh! sorry bout the faulty html code on previous comment!

  2. lgs says:

    As to this post, I know exactly what you mean. I think Bruce Lee said it best:(paraphrased)

    “When I first started training gongfu, a punch was just a punch, a kick was just a kick.

    After a while it became very complicated and there were many details.

    Now that I have mastered it, a punch is just a punch, a kick is just a kick.”

    I think you connect best when you don’t have to pay very much attention to what youre doing, which of course happens a) when you don’t know any better and b) when you have the hang of it.

  3. Shang Lee says:

    Nice one. I do miss your archives page though. 😉

  4. wujimon says:

    Hey Shang. Hopefully soon, I’ll get back some of that tagging links archive functionality. Gotta settle on a design first!

  5. Tai_Chi_Xin says:

    Tai Chi style is associated with a person’s characteristic or personnel, perhaps.

  6. wujimon says:

    Hi TCX. I agree that taiji is greatly affected by personal characterics and experience.

Leave a Reply

