Children and allowance

In the drive to work this morning, I was listening to a Money Blogger Podcast with JLP from AllThingsFinancial and was pretty interested in what he had to say about children and allowances. Basically, the gist is $1 for every year of age per week with a cap of $10. At first, I was thinking that was a rather high amount until I heard the conditions:

  • 25% into Long Term Savings
  • 25% into Short Term Savings
  • 10% Tithing to Church

That roughly means that out of $10, the child is left with $4/week or roughly $16/month. This is a figure that I can live with! He also recommended letting the children hold onto their money so they get a sense of what it feels like to spend it. I really like this idea and will definitely incorporate into my own outlook. Great podcast with great topics!

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Children and allowance

  1. Our children must EARN their allowance, no freebies!! As a single parent that was *less* than good with money throughout my youth, teaching children about money is CRUCIAL, in my mind. I’m not going to blame parents, schools, etc, but quite simply, I clearly “didn’t get it”, and I am still paying for those mistakes a decade later! And quite frankly, I hate the position I got myself in, everytime I pay off my past debts… I could have used my time/money sooooo much better.

Leave a Reply

