Meditation and altering consciousness

I’ve often read of the different types of meditational practices out there and was quite curious about them but just haven’t really made the time to give them a try. I tried to do seated meditation (zazen) before but that slowly started creeping back as now for meditational work, I mainly do zhanzhaung or the standing variant. Tho… blah blah blah.. that has become less often as of late.

With all the chores and things to do at home, ti’s difficult to make time to do zhanzhuang. I’ve tried to add it to my lunch workout but I think I’m still caught up or too cautious to be doing zhanzhuang in the universal post posture in public for long periods of time. I can do wuji no problem but I become a bit too self-judgemental when I try to do the universal post right now in public. Perhaps, that’s even more reason for me to work myself through it.

There is a lot of value in doing meditation and I KNOW that I need to do more of it. With all the daily stresses and things we face, I know a lot of us could use the calm down time. It’s just way easier to do the form than it is to stand. It’s just way easier to do double handed silk reeling than to do single handed. It’s just way easier to do single handed silk reeling than stand.. ultimately, the hardest thing to do is the most simplest, the one the requires the most mental work and the least physical. I started thinking about this more after running across Biology News Net: Meditation skills of Buddhist monks yield clues to brain’s regulation of attention, where researchers found evidence that the skills developed by Tibetan Buddhist monks in their practice of a certain type of meditation can strongly influence their experience of a phenomenon, termed “perceptual rivalry,” that deals with attention and consciousness. Based on the article, it appears the “single pointed” meditation is the one that does the trick, and is it surprising that for me, it’s one of the hardest forms of meditation. The goal to stop that mental chatter, to calm the monkey mind. I think it was a smart idea of TT Liang to incorporate music in his practice to calm the mind, but ultimately, I think that needs to stop. Music used as a stepping stone to slowly phase the approach. Reminds me of how I used to watch TV while doing zhanzhuang b/c I couldn’t do it otherwise. Then I would just listen to music, now I don’t use any stimuli and just try to be with myself.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation, Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

