Birdy Observer

81 Degrees outside with a nice subtle breeze. A great day to take a stroll over to the park and just stand in the shade to soak in the rays and wind. As I was standing in wuji position for some time, I noticed a little birdy was chillin on the ground near me. It was pretty cool b/c it felt as if he knew I posed him no harm.

I then moved into the second position (of 8 within the yiquan cycle, refer to Warriors of Stillness Vol 2 for more details). As I was standing there, I felt the calm cool breeze of the wind. I heard the leaves rustling and the birds chirping behind me. Gone was all the commotion of the work day. I was in the park.

Slowly, I shifted into position to begin single handed silk reeling exercises. As I stepped ot with my right leg and with the qi intention in my dantien, I noticed the little birdy there. He may have flown away and came back, not quite sure but it left a positive imprint in my mind to notice he was still there. As I shifted to the second position and with the intention in my uppper back, again I felt the wind blow slightly across my face. Shifting to the third position with my intention traveling from my shoulder to elbow to hand, I settled calmly, relaxed and held the posture, letting my tension melt down from my torso.

The whole session today was quite good. It was calm and peaceful. At the apex, I did a 25 min duration of the laojia yilu, going slowly and calmly focusing on my body, scanning for tension, minding the shifting and alignment of my hip to outer thigh. I ended the session with 5 mins of zhanzhuang in the wuji posture. I let the wind cool me down by drying the thin layer of sweat on my face.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

