ZZ Shakes

Yesterday as I was doing some zhanzhuang in the living room while she was watching TV, she asks me, “are you supposed to be shaking when doing that”? I told her the answer is no, but I think a lot of the shaking (which I didn’t notice) is due to the qi blockages in my body, or at least that’s what I understanding of them is.

I’m really quite amazed at how much tension I’ve accumlulated in such a short period of time. It’s only been about 5 1/2 months since the last time I regularly practiced… wow.. didn’t realize it’s been that long b/c it doesn’t feel like it has been. I’m slowly starting to get the hang of the new life style with work and the baby and really trying to find time to squeeze in as much practice as I can, anytime that I can.

Currently, I’ve been noticing a lot more tension in my hip region and it really takes a conscious effort to relax the hips and let the weight sink into my thighs. But then again, since I’ve been kinda out of it, my thighs aren’t as strong as they used to be so I’m compensating by tensing my hips! I’m still really amazed at the amount of tension I can feel in my upper back. I used to be able to get the arms close to shoulder height and still remain pretty relaxed, but now I can only get them about as high as solar plexis height and I feel them tensing up with my shoulders. I didn’t notice any shaking in the arms but I don’t doubt that it’s happening. I’m currently doing ZZ with my eyes closed at the moment as I need to really concentrate on trying to relax my mind.

Just taking it one session at a time ;)

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Meditation, Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

