24 Revisited

It’s kind of nice to go back and do some old forms. The 24 form was the first taiji form that I had learned back in college. I remember it to be a pretty nice form, tho not as interesting as the 48 due to a lot of repetition within the form. I remember doing this form a year or so ago and my wife commented how it didn’t look like the 24 anymore, it had my chen flavor added to it. I attribute this to “chen creep“, a little term I picked up on discussion boards a while back.

I’ve still been doing chen style, but things are a bit different now. My current instructor follows the material from Chen Xiao Wang, so he’s advised as such. Therefore, my form has changed a bit as previously I was doing the form closer to what Ren Guangyi does. It’s amazing how different both of these fellas do the form, but I guess that’s to be expected as we all have different backgrounds and body types that would affect the way we do things.

Anyhoo, I had run thru the 38 form about three times. My first time through a form is usually just a warm-up kind of thing to get my mind and body acclimated to it. Then on the second time, I slow things down a bit and work more on the details of the form (posture zhanzhuang, rootedness, scanning for tension, etc) and then on the third time, I will either do the form really slow, or do it fast, depending on how I’m feeling that day. On this particular day, I spent a lot of time on the second round and was feeling the burn so decided to kick it up a notch on the third run.

I then decided to come inside to cool down a bit with some zhanzhuang and silk reeling. Then went thru the form one more time in a high frame (as I was inside). After doing so, I thought about doing the 24 form again and did that in the living room. It was actually pretty nice doing the form, I felt very connected and smooth and quickly got that whole “tingling” feeling. I guess forms are like bikes, once you learn them, you never really forget. It was interesting going thru the details of the 24 and playing them against what I learned in chen. Instead of focusing on stylistic differences, I tried to focus on the principles ( head up, imagining spheres under armpits, shoulder-hip alignment, rootedness, etc) and it was good. I think I may incorporate this form into my training regime.

About wujimon

taiji, meditation and health
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

